A collection of Rod's favorite recipes

Juicing!

I haven’t posted for awhile. First the holidays, then…

My daughter, Audrie, called us and said that we need to go to Netflicks or Hulu and watch a movie, Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. So we did.
The movie inspired all of us to go on a juicing fast, as recommended in the movie. And the benefits have been great. I feel much better, my mental acuity is greatly improved, my energy is better, I’m no longer sneezing every day from allergies – I’ve only sneezed once since we started the fast – I haven’t had a headache in the last two weeks (several headaches during the first few days, however) – and I’ve lost 18 pounds in 16 days!

For sixteen days I have only been drinking juice. I have not been hungry at all and – I was worried about this – my compulsive eating habit is gone. I was always eating something and now I don’t even think about it.

There is a lot of variety – you can juice a lot of different things – though I have been using mostly the Mean Green (recipe below), but the carrot-apple-ginger is an absolutely delicious dessert juice! You can find a lot of information and great juicing recipes at http://www.rebootwithjoe.com/

Joe and his Mean Green Juice

Joe and his Mean Green Juice

Mean Green Juice (tastes good!)

Ingredients  

1 cucumber

4 celery stalks

2 apples

6-8 leaves kale

1/2 lemon

1 tbsp ginger

Directions

Wash all produce well

Peel the lemon

Put them all through a juicer

Enjoy!

Comments on: "Juicing!" (2)

  1. Congratulations that is such a huge accomplishment! I myself am on Day 13 of a juice fast, and am also loving the experience.

    How long are you planning on going for?

    • rodweston said:

      Thanks! I am doing 20 days this time. I have some business events that will prevent going further. I am planning to do another juice fast soon after, however. It’s been a great experience.

Leave a Reply

